Resume hell.

Much like the other discussions we’ve been having about our futures, the preparation of my resume has sent me oscillating between a clear sense of direction and tears.Dr. Tange suggested a skills-based resume because I have 25 years of experience in the work force, just very little of it directly relevant to teaching. It sounds good — after all, I’ve got some “mad skillz” — but somehow, when I see it all distilled down to a single sheet of paper, I feel woefully inadequate.

Am I alone here? I would like to know what some of my classmates think. Heck, I’d like to hear what anyone who’s been in this situation thinks.

~ by Shanna Gilkeson on April 6, 2013.

3 Responses to “Resume hell.”

  1. I’ve been only occasionally working on snippets of my resume for exactly this reason. It’s incredibly alarming to see years of work and hard work just squished into a single page of generic facts about a whole human being’s life experience. It’s… frankly, quite soulcrushing.

  2. I found this assignment pretty depressing for similar reasons, but also due to the style of language that we’re supposed to use. I hate to sugar-coat things, even as a means to an end. Of course it’s necessary to the assignment, but still. After reading it over, I was basically like, “Wow… who is this sucker? Oh, yeah, right… it’s me.”

  3. Having 25 years in the work force is great in and of itself. Even if it’s not related to teaching, it does show your dedication and work ethic. Those are important qualities to have as a teacher. I’ve heard so many stories about people working on a job for years, then they end up doing something completely different. I know a woman who was about to work in the police force, did a complete turnaround and became a teacher. She did it for over 30 years. You have your degrees, you have your work ethic – someone will give you a chance, not solely basing things on the type of work you had before. And I’m sure you’ll make a fabulous teacher.

Leave a Reply

 
UFOs, Aliens, and the Academy

An Interdisciplinary Conference

Star Trekking

Exploring the Final Frontier

The Fan Studies Network

Keeping fan studies scholars connected.

Intro to Digital Humanities 2016

ACS6820/HIST6820 Spring 2016 at BGSU

Michigan Humane Society

Someone Here Needs You

Jol3ne

Jolene Blalock is Mrs. Rapino

Shanna Gilkeson

Research and Reflection

MediaWest*Con 38 - May 25-28, 2018

Lansing Michigan -- Memorial Day Weekend -- www.mediawestcon.org

Film English

by Kieran Donaghy

Curiouser and Curiouser

If it intruigues me, I just might write about it here.

CURNBLOG

Movies, thoughts, thoughts about movies.

Conversations

Conversations and discussions in Lit 490

Jane Eyre's Legacy

A blog about books, movies, geekery and such!

The Colossus Crawls West

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Jenessa L.

Literature 490

Meanderings

Let's get lost...

